EU Citizens: This website uses cookies to provide you with a better experience. You can learn more by clicking here. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use.
Photo: Nathan Reinds

Rotterdam Starts the Official Countdown to Eurovision 2021

Eurovision Song Contest 2021 hosts and officials gather to unveil a 100 Days to Open Up countdown clock in front of Rotterdam’s impressive new Depot Boijmans Van Beuningen.

In sub zero temperatures, this year’s Eurovision hosts (Chantal Janzen, Jan Smit, Edsilia Rombley and Nikkie de Jager) lit the fuse on a 100 Days to Open Up countdown clock at a special launch event in front of the magnificent new Depot Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, in Rotterdam.

Photo: EBU / Stijn Smulders

Don’t be fooled by the clock’s digital appearance; the 7 metre tall timepiece will need updating manually on a daily basis for the next 100 days. Luckily, there are plenty of Eurovision fans and artists willing to lend a hand.

The Contest’s Executive Producer, Sietse Bakker, couldn’t contain his excitement:

“Eurovision season has officially started, providing a ray of hope for all fans. From today on we are looking forward, and every day, together with the City of Rotterdam, we will share a story, experience or surprise through our 100 Days to Open Up countdown.”

Joining Sietse and the hosts was the city’s top official, Mayor Aboutaleb:

“In exactly 100 days Rotterdam Ahoy will provide a safe and beautiful stage for the Eurovision Song Contest. Today the countdown starts for the millions of fans!”

The impressive installation will tick down daily until the Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final on May 22 in Rotterdam Ahoy. It can be followed via the Open Up To Rotterdam and Dutch Songfestival Instagram accounts.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2021 will take place in Ahoy, Rotterdam in The Netherlands on 19, 21 and 23 May 2021. Eurofans in New Zealand can watch all three shows live on the official Eurovision YouTube channel, without commentary.

More Stories
Douze Points: The Eurovision NZ Jury Has Decided…